Innovate2030

Digital solutions for climate-smart cities: a global innovation programme

The challenge

Climate change is putting increasing pressure on living conditions also in urban areas. Since 2007, more than 50% of the world’s population has been living in towns and cities – and the figure is rising. Although towns, cities and metropolitan area are the engines of economic growth, accounting for 60% of global GDP, they are also responsible for about 70% of global CO2 emissions and over 60% of resource consumption – presenting both a challenge and an opportunity.

Our approach

Digital technologies are of critical importance in developing effective solutions to address these pressing urban climate challenges. That’s why we, together with our partners from the European Commission, the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and private companies from the Make-IT Alliance such as Atos and Bosch, are scouting for the best digital innovations in the field of smart and climate-resilient urban development with our global innovation competition: Innovate2030. As part of a customised preparatory phase, selected teams will receive support to refine their solutions to ensure that winners are ultimately ready for scaling.

Our project goals

The Call for Solutions started in November 2021 at COP26. From over 900 innovators who registered to participate, 237 teams submitted their solutions. A jury of experts with a background in innovation and digitalization selected 23 solutions out of the teams coming from 65 countries. Then they worked on their “ready to scale” concept for 6 weeks. ​

In April 2022 we awarded 7 solutions.

Click here for more information on the winning solution ACCTION by Clurb, for which we are initiating user-centered scaling processes in different countries at BMZ digilab. Stay tuned!

  • Cities are responsible for 70% of global CO2 emissions and over 60% of resource consumption. And the trend is rising.

  • 7 solutions are implemented through the partner network. The start-up CLURB (the solution is a disaster risk management tool for cities) will work with digilab to develop user-centered scaling strategies for selected new contexts from summer 2022.

Impact

Identify, promote and implement 7 tested and approved digital solutions

Partner countries

Solutions are scouted worldwide

Implementation partners

GIZ, BMZ, Atos, Bosch, UNFCCC, EC, Microsoft, SAP, Leaders for Climate Action, UN-Habitat, IHS Rotterdam and others

Innovate2030

Digital solutions for climate-smart cities: Ein globales Innovationsprogramm

Die Herausforderung

Der Klimawandel stellt die Lebensbedingungen auch im städtischen Raum verstärkt auf die Probe. Seit 2007 lebt mehr als die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung in Städten, Tendenz steigend. Städte und Ballungsgebiete sind mit 60% des weltweiten BIP die Motoren des Wirtschaftswachstums, allerdings auch für ca. 70% der weltweiten CO2-Emissionen und über 60% des Ressourcenverbrauchs verantwortlich. Hier liegt also Herausforderung und Chance zugleich.

Unser Ansatz

Digitale Technologien sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Entwicklung von funktionierenden Lösungen, um diesen drängenden urbanen Klima-Herausforderungen zu entgegnen. Wir „scouten“ deshalb durch unseren globalen Innovationswettbewerb Innovate2030 mit unseren Partnern von der Europäischen Kommission, der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen (UNFCCC) und Privatunternehmen der Make-IT Alliance wie Atos und Bosch die besten digitalen Innovationen im Bereich intelligenter und klimaresilienter Stadtentwicklung. Ausgewählte Teams werden im Rahmen einer maßgeschneiderten Ausarbeitungsphase bei der Weiterentwicklung ihrer Lösung begleitet, sodass die finalen Gewinner „ready for scaling“ sind.

Unsere Projektziele

Der Call for Solutions startete im November 2021 auf der COP26. Aus über 900 Innovatorinnen und Innovatoren, die sich zur Teilnahme registrierten, haben 237 Teams ihre Lösungen eingereicht. Aus den Teams aus 65 Ländern hat eine Jury aus Innovations- und Digitalexperten und Expertinnen 23 Lösungen ausgewählt, die 6 Wochen an ihrem „ready to scale“-Konzept gearbeitet haben. ​

Im April 2022 haben wir 7 Lösungen prämiert.

  • Städte sind für 70% der weltweiten CO2-Emissionen und über 60% des Ressourcenverbrauchs verantwortlich. Tendenz steigend.

  • 7 Lösungen werden durch das Partnernetzwerk implementiert. Das Start-Up CLURB (die Lösung ist ein Disaster Risk Management Tool für Städte) erarbeitet gemeinsam mit dem digilab ab Sommer 2022 nutzerzentrierte Skalierungsstrategien für ausgewählte neue Kontexte.

Wirkung

Identifizieren, Fördern und Implementieren von 7 erprobten digitalen Lösungen.

Partnerländer

Lösungen werden global gescoutet

Umsetzungspartner

GIZ, BMZ, Atos, Bosch, UNFCCC, Europäische Kommission, Microsoft, SAP, UN Habitat und weitere